TE 407 CALENDAR AT-A-GLANCE
*Please note that "AFTERNOON BREAK" refers to the 4:10--6:00 pm part of TE 407 for Mark's and Elizabeth's sections on Wednesdays. For Justin's section, this takes place with Gerardo Aponte on Thursdays from 4:10--6:00 pm.

[RRT = Reflections on Reading & Teaching]
[PPP = Professional Practitioner Portfolio]
[PGP = Professional Growth Plan]
[UPP = Unit Plan Project]

Wednesday, August 31 (Seminar - Helmsing/Kenyon/Detmers)

1. The Philosophy of Seating Charts
2. Introductions to Groups & the Class
3. Discussion: Social Studies -- Argumentation, Advocacy, & Democratic Citizenship

Thursday, September 1 (Lab-Aponte)

1. The Pros and Cons of Self-Disclosure
2. Crafting a First Day Introduction
3. Delivering the Introductions
4. Sharing "Philosophy of Teaching" in groups

Assignments for 9/7:
  • Complete first RRT post and read and respond to at least five of your peers' postings on their new wikispace pages
  • Complete first PPP piece ("Philosophy of Teaching") *always bring a printed copy to next class the following session to put in binder*
  • Read pp. 1-8 from "Introduction" and pp. 145-156 "Uncovering the Lessons of Classroom Furniture" in The New Teacher Book
  • Read pp. 1-8 from "Chapter 1 - The Social Studies" in Instructional Strategies book


Wednesday, September 7 - (Seminar - Helmsing/Kenyon/Detmers)

1. What is a Methods Class?
2. Generating Course Themes
3. Visit from Kelly Hodges, Secondary Teacher Education Program Coordinator
4. Develop Practitioner Growth Plan & Rubric

Wednesday, September 7 - (Lab - Helmsing/Kenyon)

1. The Pros and Cons of Self-Disclosure
2. Crafting a First Day Introduction
3. Delivering the Introductions
4. Sharing "Philosophy of Teaching" in groups

Thursday, September 8 (Lab - Aponte)

1. Teaching Beliefs (think, pair, share)
2. Letters to Mentors

Assignments for 9/12:
  • Complete second RRT post on first impressions
  • Begin second PPT piece ("Importance of Social Studies Surveys")
  • Read excerpts from Fires in the Bathroom
  • Read pp. 9-34 in The New Teacher Book
  • Read pp. 47-67 in Instructional Strategies book


Monday, September 12 - (Seminar - Helmsing/Kenyon/Detmers)

1. Summarize and clarify main ideas from Instructional Strategies reading.
2. As a class, engage in practice planning a two-week social studies unit on "The Modern Middle East"

  1. Consult the Michigan State Standards to identify learning objectives to be met by this unit.
  2. Develop essential questions with concentric circles of knowing related to your unit’s content.
  3. Discuss different types of instruction and think about what would be most fitting for different parts of the unit.
  4. Research resources for teaching this unit.
Assignments for 9/14:
  • Finish second PPT piece ("Importance of Social Studies Surveys")
  • Read excerpts on "essential questions" from Understanding by Design book
  • Read pp. 67-72 in Instructional Strategies book


Wednesday, September 14


Monday, September 19


Wednesday, September 21


Monday, September 26


Wednesday, September 28


Monday, October 3


Wednesday, October 5


Monday, October 10


Wednesday, October 12


Monday, October 17


Wednesday, October 19 (SEMESTER MIDTERM)


Monday, October 24


Wednesday, October 26


Monday, October 31


Wednesday, November 2


Monday, November 7


Wednesday, November 9


Monday, November 14


Wednesday, November 16


Monday, November 21


Wednesday, November 23 (NO CLASS - THANKSGIVING BREAK)


Monday, November 28


Wednesday, November 30 (NO CLASS - NCSS CONFERENCE)


Monday, December 5


Wednesday, December 7 (LAST DAY OF CLASS)


Monday, December 12


Wednesday, December 14